I too have been covered with thorns

februari 10, 2012 § Lämna en kommentar

I am your moon
and your moonlight too
I am your flower garden
and Your water too
I have come all this way
eager for you
without shoes or shawl
I want you to laugh
to dispel all your worries
to love you
to nourish you
Oh sweet bitterness
I will soothe you and heal you
I will bring you roses
I too have been covered with thorns.
The springtime of Lovers has come,
that this dust bowl may become a garden;
the proclamation of heaven has come,
that the bird of the soul may rise in flight.
The sea becomes full of pearls,
the salt marsh becomes sweet as spring rain,
the stone becomes a diamond from the mine,
the body becomes wholly soul.

A Rumi quote from the web page Rumi and Hafiz Sufi Poet.
Source in Rumi’s works unknown. Translator unknown.

This poem reminds me of the Song of Songs.

”I too have been covered with thorns”: reminds me strongly of the thorn crown.

_ _ _

I found this poem when trying to find a passage of Rumi where he talks of gems taking form in rocks.

_ _ _

Incidentally, the first two thirds of this poem is sung by Madonna on the 3rd track of the CD ”A Gift of Love” presented by ”Deepak & friends”. The track is called ”Bittersweet”, lyrics here.

Can be heard from the youtube clip A Gift of Love (1 of 10) from 1:57 to 4:07

"A Gift of Love"-cover, by Deepak & friends

"A Gift of Love"-cover, by Deepak & friends

Taggad: , , , , , , , , ,

Kommentera

Vad är detta?

Du läser för närvarande I too have been covered with thornsPataphysics of Simulacra.

Meta